© 2023 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Democrats, Libertarians To Select Special Congressional Election Nominees

Laura Spencer
KCUR/File photo

Democrats and Libertarians from Kansas' 4th Congressional District will each have nominating conventions Saturday to select their nominees for the special election to replace Mike Pompeo, who was picked to be the president's new director of the CIA.

The district’s 55 Democratic delegates will meet at the Sedgwick County Courthouse to choose between five candidates: Charlie Walker, Laura Lombard, Robert Tillman, Dennis McKinney and James Thompson.

State Executive director Kerry Gooch says the party has an opportunity to elect Kansas’ only Democratic congress person.

“We normally have a tough time recruiting candidates to run for congressional seats in Kansas, so the fact that we have ... candidates actively out there working is great," he says.

Libertarians will be the last party to name a nominee. Any registered Libertarian from the district is able to vote when the party meets at the Wichita Public Library Alford Branch on Saturday. John Costner, Chris Rockhold and former 4th District candidate Gordon Bakken are all running to be the party’s candidate on the April 11 ballot.

This post has been corrected to reflect there are five Democratic front-runners. An original version said six.


Follow Nadya Faulx on Twitter @NadyaFaulx.

To contact KMUW News or to send in a news tip, reach us at news@kmuw.org.

Nadya Faulx is KMUW's Digital News Editor and Reporter, which means she splits her time between working on-air and working online, managing news on KMUW.org, Twitter, Facebook and Instagram. She joined KMUW in 2015 after working for a newspaper in western North Dakota. Before that she was a diversity intern at NPR in Washington, D.C.