© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

David Dennis Selected As New Sedgwick County Commission Chair

Sedgwick County Twitter
New county commission Chairman David Dennis is congratulated at a ceremony Wednesday.

Sedgwick County commissioners elected a new chairman and second-in-command during their meeting Wednesday.

First-term Commissioner David Dennis will chair the board for the coming year. It's the chairperson's duties to oversee meetings and set commission agendas.

Commission member Jim Howell said Dennis is a proven leader.

"He was a great leader in the state and the community before he was a commissioner, and he's demonstrated that this last year especially in the county," Howell said.

Dennis is retired U.S. Air Force colonel and a retired teacher, and has served on different local and state boards. He was elected to a seat on the county commission in 2016.

He said it was an "honor" to be selected as board chairman.

"My goal as it's been ever since I started public service is to serve our citizens whether it's our citizens in Sedgwick County, the state of Kansas or our nation, and I will continue to do that," he said.

Dennis succeeds former Chairman David Unruh, who was named chair pro-tem.


Follow Nadya Faulx on Twitter @NadyaFaulx.

To contact KMUW News or to send in a news tip, reach us at news@kmuw.org.