© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Wichita School Board 2019 Election: Three Candidates Challenge School Board President

Stephan Bisaha
Wichita Public Schools' board president Sheril Logan runs a board meeting.

Wichita Public Schools' board president will face three challengers in this year's election.

Sheril Logan has been on the board since 2011, making her the longest sitting member. Along with the current school year, she was board president in 2015 and 2017.

Her opponents include Trish Hileman, Joseph Shepard and Brent Davis.

The position is considered at large, letting anyone within Wichita Public Schools' boundaries run without being tied to a specific district.

Since there are more than three candidates in the race, an Aug. 6 primary will determine which two moves on to the general election on Nov. 5.

Two other Wichita school board seats are up this year. James Kilpatrick is running against incumbent Stan Reeser to represent district four.

District three board member Ernestine Krehbiel is running unopposed.

Stephan Bisaha, based at KMUW in Wichita, is an education reporter for the Kansas News Service, a collaboration of KMUW, Kansas Public Radio, KCUR and High Plains Public Radio covering health, education and politics. Follow him on Twitter @SteveBisaha. Kansas News Service stories and photos may be republished at no cost with proper attribution and a link back to the original post. To contact KMUW News or to send in a news tip, reach us at news@kmuw.org.