Primary 2019: What To Know About The Races For Wichita Mayor, School Board

Aug 5, 2019

Don’t let the size of your ballot fool you: Tuesday’s election will have big implications for Wichita (as do all elections, really).

Two primary races will narrow the fields for Wichita mayor and the Wichita School Board’s at-large seat.

Here’s what you need to know about each race, including where to vote — if you haven’t already.

Wichita mayor

Nine people are running to be Wichita’s next mayor (a large field, but keep in mind that 10 candidates ran in the 2015 mayoral primary, and 15 were on the ballot in the 2003 primary).

These are the candidates who’ll be on Tuesday’s ballot in the nonpartisan race for mayor:

The top two vote-getters will move on to the general election in November. This is the first city mayor election held in the fall.

Who can vote in this election: Any eligible voter in the city of Wichita.

Wichita School Board at-large seat

Unlike other seats on the BOE, anyone in the Wichita public school district can run for this one, no matter where they live. Four candidates are running:

  • Complete Education Inc. president Brent Davis
  • Nonprofit director and former school board candidate Trish Hileman
  • BOE president Sheril Logan
  • Newman University director of Multicultural Engagement and Campus Life Joseph Shepard

Who can vote: Eligible voters in USD 259

Where do I vote?

Early in-person voting at the Sedgwick County Election Office wraps up at noon Monday, the day before Election Day.

If you have an advance ballot you want to mail in, make sure it’s postmarked by Election Day and arrives at the Election Office no later than the Friday after (Aug. 9).

Polling places are open from 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Tuesday, Aug. 6. On Election Day, voters must go to their designated polling place; you can search for that here. (Starting next year, you’ll be able to vote at any polling place — but for now, stick to what’s on your voter registration card.)