© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

A Wild! Wild! Wild! August

Wednesday, August 1

After the death Led Zeppelin drummer John Bonham in 1980, Robert Plant was initially unsure that he’d continue with a career in music. But by 1982 the singer had delivered his first solo album, Pictures At Eleven, featuring drumming work from both Phil Collins of Genesis and journeyman musician Cozy Powell. Although the LP would not rise to the commercial heights Plant had experienced with Led Zeppelin, it did set the tone for an enduring and adventurous career. We’ll hear selections from that recording on this episode plus music from On Stage, the 1977 album from Rainbow. That band was founded by former Deep Purple guitarist Ritchie Blackmore and in the iteration heard on this recording featured keyboardist Tony Carey, drummer Cozy Powell and vocalist Ronnie James Dio as well as future Dio bassist Jimmy Bain.

Thursday, August 2

 Released in 1993, Frosting On The Beater was the third album from Seattle power pop outfit The Posies. We’ll hear music from that collection plus selections from Columbia: Live At Missouri University, the 1993 album from the reunited Memphis band Big Star. The group’s remaining members, Jody Stephens and Alex Chilton, recruited Ken Stringfellow and Jon Auer of The Posies for what was thought to be a one-time reunion but lasted until Chilton’s death in 2010.

Friday, August 3

It’s our New Month, New Music feature. Throughout the 1980s and 1990s guitarist and composer Robert Poss was a member of Band of Susans, a group that combined elements of rock and experimental/orchestral music. Since then he’s continued to compose adventurous music, including pieces for dance ensembles. He’s collected a variety of those pieces on his new LP, Frozen Flowers Curse The Day. We’ll hear music from that as well as selections from Horne + Holt, the instrumental duo of experimental guitarist Jonathan F. Horne and classically-trained cellist Randall Holt. Plus new selections from Paul Collins, The Magpie Salute, Neko Case and more.

Saturday, August 4

Listen for music from Fox Confessor Brings The Flood, the 2006 release from singer-songwriter Neko Case plus selections from Robert Plant’s 1983 effort, The Principle of Moments.

Monday, August 6

Brief Sensuality and Western Violence is the latest in a series of reissues from former Melvins bassist Mark Deutrom. Initially issued in 2013, it is Deutrom’s fifth overall solo effort and arrives ahead of a brand-new record available later in 2018. We’ll hear selections from Brief Sensuality and Western Violence plus music from Crisis Casanova.

Tuesday, August 7

Wild! Wild! Wild! is the new release from Grammy-nominated singer-songwriter Robbie Fulks and Linda Gail Lewis, the younger sister of rock legend Jerry Lee Lewis. Listen for selections from it plus High Water I, the new studio release from The Magpie Salute, featuring Rich Robinson and Marc Ford formerly of The Black Crowes.

Wednesday, August 8

Lamp Lit Prose is the latest from The Dirty Projectors we’ll hear music from that release as well as from John Prine’s The Tree Of Forgiveness.