© 2021 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Beautiful Sky, The Twilight Sad, Some Pedestrian Verse

Tuesday, July 23

Deluxe Hotel Room is the new release from singer-songwriter Lucette. Produced by country/Americana artist Sturgill Simpson, the album draws from a variety of musical idioms, most notably pop and confessional singer-songwriters of the ‘70s and ‘80s. We’ll also hear music from the latest by Shawn James, The Dark & The Light.

Wednesday, July 24 

Tiny Changes: A Celebration of Frightened Rabbit’s ‘the Midnight Organ Fight’ recreates the 2008 album from Scottish band Frightened Rabbit whose guitarist and vocalist Scott Hutchison died in 2018. The new collection features artists such as Josh Ritter, Craig Finn, Manchester Orchestra and The Twilight Sad. We’ll hear music from that effort as well as selections from Frightened Rabbit’s 2013 release, Pedestrian Verse.

Thursday, July 25

King’s Mouth: Music and Songs is the latest release from The Flaming Lips and features narration from The Clash’s Mick Jones on several pieces. Listen for selections from it as well as music from All Is Dream, the 2001 record from Mercury Rev featuring former Flaming Lips guitarist Jonathan Donahue.

Friday, July 26

We’ll hear music from TV On The Radio’s 2006 disc, Return to Cookie Mountain as well as selections from Antidotes the 2008 effort from Foals, produced by TV On The Radio’s Dave Sitek.

Saturday, July 27

Listen for selections from Wolf Alice’s 2015 debut, My Love Is Cool as well as music from Teenage Fanclub’s Bandwagonesque.

Monday, July 29 

Sachiko Kanenobu is considered Japan’s first female folk singer. Her album, Misora (“beautiful sky”), has enjoyed legendary status in her home country. Kanenobu moved to the United States before the album was released and lived a quiet life in Northern California for most of the subsequent decades. More recently guitarist Steve Gunn (of Kurt Vile’s band) and singer-songwriter Mia Doi Todd have championed her work. We’ll hear from the newly-reissued Misora as well as selections from Gunn’s 2019 LP The Unseen In Between.

Tuesday, July 30

Majesty Shredding is the 2010 release from Superchunk. Listen for music from that recording as well as Yo La Tengo’s 1997 release, I Can Hear the Heart Beating As One.

Wednesday, July 31

Released in 1986, Iggy Pop’s Blah Blah Blah was produced by David Bowie and marked their final collaboration. We’ll hear music from that album as well as selections from Bowie’s early ‘90s effort Black Tie White Noise.