© 2021 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Trouble No More, No Love In War And Savage Young Dü

Thursday, November 9

One of the more unexpected developments in Bob Dylan’s career was his conversion to Christianity in the late 1970s. The period, known as his gospel years, yielded three albums: Slow Train Coming, Saved and Shot of Love, all released between 1979 and 1981. Though that era remains one of the most controversial in the singer-songwriter’s life, recent years have seen fans embrace the material. Now, fans can hear a series of live performances thanks to a new, expansive boxed set Trouble No More: The Bootleg Series Vol. 13 1979-1981. We’ll hear music from that release as well as selections from Halloween ‘77, a new set from Frank Zappa.

Friday, November 10

Terribility is the latest from release from Dallas/Fort Worth, Texas’ Oil Boom. We’ll hear selections from that release on this episode as well as music from UFO’s 1974 release, Phenomenon.

Saturday, November 11

There’s No Love In This War is the 2007 album from The Gunshy. The songs are based on letters that singer-songwriter Matt Arbogast’s grandfather, Paul Arbogast, wrote between 1943 and 1945. Listen for music from that recording as well as the 1986 album from Screaming Blue Messiahs, Gun-Shy. We’ll also celebrate the birthday of XTC co-founder Andy Partridge with selections from that band as well as his work with the band Monstrance.

Monday, November 13

We’ll hear music from Jen Cloher’s 2017 self-titled release as well as selections from Courtney Barnett with Kurt Vile.

Tuesday, November 14

Just Like Medicine is the latest album from singer-songwriter A.J. Croce. The record features appearances from legendary musicians such as Vince Gill, Steve Cropper and David Hood in addition to featuring a new song from his late father, Jim Croce, and one co-written with the late Leon Russell. Listen for music from Just Like Medicine plus selections from the latest by Destroyer, ken.

Wednesday, November 15

Wild and Reckless is the latest album from Portland, Oregon’s Blitzen Trapper. The album is based on an ambition stage production the group undertook culminating in a collection of songs that dealt with drug abuse, desperation and a long-gone vision of the group’s hometown. We’ll hear selections from this release as well as music from Anna Tivel’s Small Believer.

Thursday, November 16

Phases is the latest from singer-songwriter Angel Olson, we’ll hear selections from that recording on this episode plus music from Savage Young Dü a new compilation project commemorating the early recordings of legendary Minnesota band Hüsker Dü.