© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Close Races For Wichita City Council, School Board

Wichita City Council, District 1

Incumbent city council member Lavonta Willams kept her seat, beating out Dave Thomas with 71 percent of the vote. Thomas had 28 percent of the vote.

Wichita City Council, District 3

James Clendenin grabbed the District 3 Wichita city council seat in a close race with Clinton Coen. Clendenin had 52 percent of the vote, Coen had 46 percent.

Wichita City Council, District 6

Janet Miller retained her District 6 Wichita City Council seat. She beat out Marty Mork, with 76 percent of the vote.

Wichita City Council, District 4

Jeff Blubaugh will likely take over Sen. Michael O’Donnell’s District 4 Wichita City Council seat. He appears to have narrowly beaten opponent Joshua Blick.

Blick had 48 percent of the vote and Blubaugh had 50 percent of the vote.

Contested USD 259 School Board Races

Joy Eakins appears to have beaten Scott Poor in an extremely close race for the District 2 seat. Preliminary results show Eakins beating Poor by 46 votes. Both Eakins and Poor had 49 percent of the vote.

In the District 5 School Board race John Crane, Peter Grant and Michael Rodee all came in very close. Michael Rodee is the likely winner with 37 percent of the vote. Crane had 33 percent of the vote and Grant had 27 percent of the vote.

For expanded election results including mayoral races in Maize, El Dorado, Goddard and Haysville visit sedgwickcounty.org/elections.