© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Kansas Lawmakers Abolish Statute of Limitations On Rape Cases

A bill has been signed into Kansas law that abolishes the statute of limitations for prosecuting rape cases. 

Kansas was among 10 states that required rape cases to be prosecuted within five years.

The new law also allows for prosecution of a sexually violent crime within 10 years if the victim is at least 18 years old. For younger victims, prosecution would begin within one year of the date the suspect is identified through DNA testing, or within 10 years of the victim's 18th birthday, whichever is later.

Gov. Brownback signed the bill today, and it takes effect July 1.