© 2024 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
0:00 0:00
Available On Air Stations

Rudd Scholarships Awarded To 25 Kansas Students

Courtesy: Wichita State University
Fifteen Rudd Scholarship winners will attend Wichita State University in the fall.

The Rudd Foundation has awarded 25 college scholarships to Kansas high school seniors.

Each winner will receive a four-year scholarship to attend either Emporia State University, Fort Hays State University or Wichita State University.

The scholarship covers tuition, fees, books, and room and board. The expected value for each winner over four years is $56,000.

The 15 incoming WSU students are: Wyatt Abell, Oakley High School; Darbee Chard, Chanute High School; Wendy De Loera, Wichita East; Storm Dial, Emporia High School; Brady Flesner, Medicine Lodge High School; Julie Gonzalez-Morales, Sumner Academy; Maria Jimenez, Yates Center High School; Brooke Keith, Meade High School; Cali Keith, Meade High School; Codi Kentner, Quinter High School; Kennedi Meiers, West Franklin High School; Ronald Michel, Wichita County High School; David Nevarez-Saenz, Sumner Academy; Lauren O’Donnell, Blue Valley High School, and Ian Weaver, Hesston High School.

The five incoming Emporia State students are: Rafael Granillo, Moscow High School; Abigail Noyes, Topeka Seaman High School; Abbygail Rowden, Canton-Galva High School; Karime Vargas, Lyons High School, and Johnathan Young, Paola High School.

The five Fort Hays State students are: Gage Farney, Sterling High School; Aundrea Haberer, Sylvan-Lucas High School; Ayanna Hensley, Dodge City High School; Angel Mong, Wheatland High School, and Trinity Wagner, Beloit High School.

Wichita businessman Leslie Rudd created the Rudd Scholarship in 2017 to help students with financial needs attend college. This will be the Rudd Foundation’s second class of scholars.

The total value of the scholarships is $1.4 million.

Michael Brown is an intern in the KMUW News Lab. Follow him on Twitter @_countinstars_