© 2021 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations
Jedd Beaudoin and Chuck Mead discuss the evolution of Mead's music at Country Music: A KMUW Music TastingKMUW is celebrating Kansas' unique role in the evolution of country music with a series of special features.Kansas native Chuck Mead, a founding member of the group BR549, joined us for Country Music: A KMUW Music Tasting on September 5 at Roxy's Downtown. It was an evening of music and conversation hosted by Strange Currency's Jedd Beaudoin. 00000179-cdc6-d978-adfd-cfc6d8770000KMUW is taking this look at Kansas' country music roots leading up to the debut of Country Music, an eight-part, 16-hour documentary series directed and produced by Ken Burns.The series premieres Sunday, September 15, at 7:00 p.m. central on KPTS Channel 8.

Official Trailer: 'Country Music' Coming To PBS In September

Explore the history of a uniquely American art form: country music. From its deep and tangled roots in ballads, blues and hymns to its worldwide popularity, learn how country music evolved over the course of the twentieth century. Country Music, directed by Ken Burns, features never-before-seen footage and photographs, plus interviews with more than 80 country music artists.

Tune in or stream Sunday, September 15, at 7:00 p.m. central on KPTS Channel 8.


Funding for Country Music was provided by Bank of America, the Annenberg Foundation, the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations, Belmont University, Tennessee Department of Tourist Development, the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, Rosalind P. Walter and by members of ‘The Better Angels Society,’ including: The Blavatnik Family Foundation, the Schwartz/Reisman Foundation, the Pfeil Foundation, Diane and Hal Brierley, John and Catherine Debs, the Fullerton Family Charitable Fund, the Perry and Donna Golkin Family Foundation, Jay Alix and Una Jackman, Mercedes T. Bass, Fred and Donna Seigel, Gilchrist and Amy Berg, James R. Berdell Foundation, David Bonderman, Deborah P. and Jonathan T. Dawson, Senator Bill and Tracy Frist, Susan and David Kreisman, Rocco and Debby Landesman, Lillian Lovelace, John and Leslie McQuown, Mindy’s Hope Foundation, the Segal Family Foundation, Michelle Smith. Major funding was provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and PBS.