© 2021 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

June Vocalese Feature, Jazz Journalist Winners & Grant Green, Monty Alexander Birthdays

Monday 6.5.17

Night Train kicks off the June feature celebrating the centennial birthday of Dave Lambert. As part of the famous Lambert, Hendricks & Ross lineup, Lambert helped to shape and popularize vocalese – the art of putting lyrics to jazz instrumentals, particularly famous jazz solos.  Along with music from Lambert, Hendricks & Ross, tonight’s show features vocalese artists Eddie Jefferson (doing the Night Train theme) and Manhattan Transfer. Plus birthday salutes to percussionist, trumpeter, and modern Latin Jazz master Jerry Gonzalez drummer, and to drummer Peter Erskine (from his new Dr. Um album, and performing with Bob Mintzer, Tierney Sutton, John Abercrombie, and with Jaco Pastorius on a new, previously unreleased live album). Night Train also kicks off a week-long salute to this year’s Jazz Journalist Association Award winners, including music this evening from Brian Lunch, Anat Cohen, and Claire Daly.

Tuesday 6.6.17

Night Train marks birthdays of pianist Monty Alexander (including an appearance he made at the Savannah Music Festival in hour two of the show) and guitarist Grant Green. Plus more for the June Vocalese feature in honor of Dave Lambert’s centennial birthday – this time from Annie Ross with Gerry Mulligan and as part of the Lambert, Hendricks & Ross lineup. And more Jazz Journalist Association Award winners, as Night Train features them this week, and new music from the Afro Bop Alliance Big Band, Doug Munro, and the recently reissued Charlie Parker Concert of the Century tribute from Dizzy Gillespie.

Wednesday 6.7.17

Night Train marks the birthday of guitarist Royce Campbell with music from his new album, Tea for Three, tributes to Henry Mancini and Wes Montgomery and more. Plus more music from the recently named Jazz Journalist Association Award winners, including Gregory Porter, Rene Marie, Kenny Barron, Jack DeJohnette (as part of the new Hudson lineup), Dr. Lonnie Smith and McCoy Tyner. 

Thursday 6.8.17

As part of the June feature celebrating Dave Lambert’s centennial and vocalese, Night Train highlights male jazz vocalists tonight – including vocalese pioneer Jon Hendricks and another vocalese master Mark Murphy, veterans Ernie Andrews and Andy Bey, rising stars Gregory Porter, Allan Harris, and Jose James, and beyond category – Bobby McFerrin.