© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

In Kansas, Party Predicted Whether Lawmakers Backed Trump’s Second Impeachment

The House voted to impeach President Donald Trump for a second time Jan. 13, 2021.

The Kansas congressional delegation once again split among party lines Wednesday over whether to impeach President Donald Trump, a second time, for any role he played whipping up a mob to storm the U.S. Capitol.

Democrats blame Trump for inciting a riot that resulted in five deaths and contend that his remaining week in office poses a threat to national security. Republicans dismissed the effort as part of an ongoing political vendetta, one that would further divide the nation at a time when Trump is on his way out.

Kansas Republican Representatives Tracey Mann, Jake LaTurner and Ron Estes voted against impeachment while Democratic Rep. Sharice Davids was the lone member of the Kansas delegation supporting impeachment.

The partisan divide offers another sign that after a violent attack at the national Capitol last week, Democrats and Republicans don’t agree on a path forward for the country.

Mann, a western Kansas Republican, said he voted against impeaching the president because removing Trump from office would "lead to further division in our great nation and add to the political chaos."

"I will not oversee the slow decline of our nation, but instead will work to ensure a bright future for our children and grandchildren," Tracey Mann said on Twitter.

Davids, the Democrat representing Johnson and Wyandotte counties, voted for impeachment because she said the country can't move forward without accountability.

"He is a clear and present danger to our safety, security and our democracy," Davids said in a Twitter video.

The debate over impeachment didn't include any witnesses. Estes said in a statement that "turns an important constitutional provision created by the founders into a partisan stunt."

The Senate is not expected to begin the impeachment trial before Jan. 19, according to The New York Times.

Kansas' two senators, both Republicans, are not expected to vote to convict. Sen. Roger Marshall challenged president-elect Joe Biden’s win. Sen. Jerry Moran supported upholding the Electoral College votes, although is not likely to split from the party to convict Trump.