© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

Harvey Co. Sheriff Named Kansas Sheriff Of The Year For Work Following Hesston Shooting

Abigail Wilson
KMUW/File photo
Harvey County Sheriff T. Walton at a media briefing following the shooting at Excel Industries in Hesston.

The Kansas Sheriffs Association announced this week that Harvey County Sheriff T. Walton has been named the 2016 Kansas Sheriff of the Year. He was nominated in part because of his "courage and professionalism" in the wake of a mass shooting in Hesston.

Sheriff Walton was thrust into the limelight in February following a shooting at Excel Industries. Four people, including gunman Cedric Ford, were killed. The shooting brought in national media and shook the tight community of Hesston. Walton lead law enforcement through the emergency.

Walton was nominated by Pratt County Sheriff Vernon Chinn. In a press release, Chinn said Walton conducted himself in the highest traditions of a Kansas sheriff and lawman in the face of extreme danger and tremendous challenges. 

Walton, who plans to retire this year, was sworn into office in 2009. He shares the sheriff of the year title for this year with Wallace County Sheriff Larry Townsend.


Follow Abigail Beckman on Twitter @AbigailKMUW.

To contact KMUW News or to send in a news tip, reach us at news@kmuw.org.