Country Music

Chuck Mead, founding member of the group BR549.
Credit Joshua Moon Wilkins

KMUW is celebrating Kansas' unique role in the evolution of country music with a special event featuring country music veteran and Kansas native Chuck Mead, a founding member of the group BR549. Join us for some great music and conversation with KMUW's Jedd Beaudoin, host of Strange Currency.

Country Music: A KMUW Music Tasting
7 p.m. on Thursday, Sept. 5
Roxy's Downtown | 412 1/2 E. Douglas

This event is free but space is limited, so advance tickets are recommended. Click here to reserve your spot.  

KMUW is taking a look at Kansas' country music roots leading up to the debut of Country Music, an eight-part, 16-hour documentary series directed and produced by Ken Burns; written and produced by Dayton Duncan; and produced by Julie Dunfey. The series premieres Sunday, September 15, at 7:00 p.m. central on KPTS Channel 8.    

Explore the history of country music - from its roots in ballads, hymns and the blues to its mainstream popularity - and meet the unforgettable characters and storytellers who made it "America's Music."

Country Music Hall of Fame and Museum

Explore the history of a uniquely American art form: country music. From its deep and tangled roots in ballads, blues and hymns to its worldwide popularity, learn how country music evolved over the course of the twentieth century. Country Music, directed by Ken Burns, features never-before-seen footage and photographs, plus interviews with more than 80 country music artists.

Tune in or stream Sunday, September 15, at 7:00 p.m. central on PBS.

Funding for Country Music was provided by Bank of America, the Annenberg Foundation, the Arthur Vining Davis Foundations, Belmont University, Tennessee Department of Tourist Development, the Metropolitan Government of Nashville and Davidson County, Rosalind P. Walter and by members of ‘The Better Angels Society,’ including: The Blavatnik Family Foundation, the Schwartz/Reisman Foundation, the Pfeil Foundation, Diane and Hal Brierley, John and Catherine Debs, the Fullerton Family Charitable Fund, the Perry and Donna Golkin Family Foundation, Jay Alix and Una Jackman, Mercedes T. Bass, Fred and Donna Seigel, Gilchrist and Amy Berg, James R. Berdell Foundation, David Bonderman, Deborah P. and Jonathan T. Dawson, Senator Bill and Tracy Frist, Susan and David Kreisman, Rocco and Debby Landesman, Lillian Lovelace, John and Leslie McQuown, Mindy’s Hope Foundation, the Segal Family Foundation, Michelle Smith. Major funding was provided by the Corporation for Public Broadcasting and PBS.