Book Review

Journalist and book reviewer Suzanne Perez reviews the latest books and such for KMUW on air and right here. Discover new reviews on alternate Mondays. You can also listen to KMUW book reviews through iTunes. Listen or subscribe here

Book Review: 'The Shape of Ideas'

May 15, 2017
Mark Woolcott Photography

What happens if you study orthodontia, but can’t stop drawing, then post clever comics about writing and reading on a website to be shared all around the world called incidentalcomics.com? And you live in Wichita?

Book Review: 'Spoils'

May 1, 2017

When the recent news that the ‘mother of all bombs' was dropped in Afghanistan to wipe out a stronghold of ISIS, I immediately thought about  Brian Van Reet’s debut novel Spoils, a propulsive novel that empathetically depicts both sides of our ruinous war on terror.

Book Review: 'Border Cantos'

Apr 17, 2017

Border Cantos, an oversized volume of brilliantly painful color photographs by Richard Misrach taken at the Mexican Border of the United States, is haunting. 

Book Review: 'The Last Painting of Sara De Vos'

Apr 3, 2017

This review originally aired on May 16, 2016

Three time periods, three cities, and one gorgeous painting, in a smart and well crafted novel: The Last Painting of Sara De Vos by Dominic Smith.

Imaginative Books About Art For Kids

Mar 20, 2017

Two inspired illustrated books recently caught my eye; two distinctive palates, two portraits of child artists, two books that distill complicated concepts. 

Book Review: 'Exit West'

Mar 6, 2017

Pakistani writer Mohsin Hamid is the bestselling author of novels and essays, among them the revered novel, The Reluctant Fundamentalist. His latest book, Exit West, is one every reader should read now. I have not been this emotionally moved by a book in years.

Book Review: 'Underground Airlines'

Feb 20, 2017

Not to be confused with Colson Whitehead’s inventive novel, Underground Railroad is Ben H. Winter’s Underground Airlines. Part thriller, part alternative history, and fully engaging, Underground Airlines is set in the present. 

Book Review: 'The Playbook'

Feb 6, 2017

Kwame Alexander has written two novels in verse. Each verse/voice is distinct and fun to read.

Book Review: 'Victoria'

Jan 25, 2017

I couldn’t resist reading Victoria, the novel by Daisy Goodwin. It follows Queen Victoria beginning in 1838, when she becomes Queen of England a month into her 18th year, taking us through her courtship and marriage to Prince Albert in 1840. Goodwin was commissioned to make a TV series about the life of Victoria and I tuned into the first episode now airing on PBS’s Masterpiece Theatre. I wanted more and I got exactly what I wanted. 

Book Review: 'Once We Were Sisters'

Jan 9, 2017

Sheila Kohler has released her 14th book, entitled Once We Were Sisters. Told mostly in the collective “we,” Kohler takes an intimate look at the unassailable bonds of sisterhood. Sheila May and Maxine’s affluent and charmed early years are spent at Crossways, an estate in the suburbs of Johannesburg, supported by an army of servants. After the death of their timber magnate father, the pre-teen girls move with their family into a boarding house, under the care of their unstable and overbearing mother.

Pages