Monty Alexander Feature + Duos, Joe Chambers, NEA Jazz Master Reggie Workman & More

Jun 24, 2019

'Spain Forever' from Michel Camilo & Tomatito
Credit Album Cover Art

Monday, June 24

It’s a duos extravaganza tonight on the Night Train with music from a Latin Grammy winning release from pianst Michel Camilo and flamenco guitarist Tomatito, newly named 2020 NEA Jazz Master Bobby McFerrin with pianist Chick Corea, pianist Oscar Peterson and vibes legend Milt Jackson, pianist Fred Hersch and singer Jay Clayton, pianist Kenny Barron with bassist Dave Holland, and several duo recordings from bassist Charlie Haden – with guitarist Pat Metheny, and with pianists Gonzalo Rubalcaba, Hank Jones, and Keith Jarrett.

Tuesday, June 25

Night Train marks the birthday of drummer and jazz educator Joe Chambers with music he did as a leader and from some of his many classic sessions for Blue Note with the likes of McCoy Tyner, Joe Henderson and more. Plus more from June featured artist Monty Alexander (with his Ivory and Steel Caribbean band, with singer Ernestine Anderson, and as part of the Dizzy Gillespie Jam at the Montreux Jazz Festival), along with new music from Eric Reed, Tyler Blanton, Thomas Marriott, and the Brad Goode Quintet featuring Ernie Watts.

'Three's Company' from Bill Cunliffe and Holly Hofman
Credit Album Cover Art

Wednesday, June 2

On the birthday list tonight on the Night Train, pianist Bill Cunliffe (as a leader and with the Clayton Brothers), drummer Joey Baron (as a leader and with John Abercrombie and Enrico Pieranunzi) and bassist and newly named 2020 NEA Jazz Master Reggie Workman (with John Coltrane, Herbie Mann and Bobby Hutcherson). Plus more from June featured artist Monty Alexander and new music from Joe Fiedler (with a charming and inventive reworking of the music of Sesame Street), saxophonist Jim Snidero, and the Ellen Rowe Octet (featuring some of the top female instrumentalists working in jazz today).

Monty Alexander's 'Goin' Yard'
Credit Album Cover Art

Thursday, June 27

Night Train features some jazz legends, wraps up the June Monty Alexander feature, and highlights a number of new releases. We’ll hear the debut albums from jazz legends Elvin Jones, Shelia Jordan and Nina Simone, along with music from Art Blakey & the Jazz Messengers, Miles Davis, Sonny Rollins with John Coltrane, Herbie Hancock, and Betty Carter. Plus one of Monty Alexander’s Jamaican-flavored jazz releases and music from his Triple Treat trio releases with Ray Brown and Herb Ellis. Plus the latest from Lisa Hilton, the New Orleans Jazz Orchestra, Vanessa Rubin, Five Play and the Joshua Redman Quartet.