Burning Lips, A Planet Of Ice And Word From The Galactic Protector

Jun 7, 2019

'Something to Write Home About' by The Get Up kids
Credit Album Cover Art

Monday, June 10

Released in 1999, Something to Write Home About is the sophomore release from Kansas City, Missouri emo/pop-punk outfit The Get Up Kids. Listen for music from that release on this episode of the show as well as selections from Designing a Nervous Breakdown the early 2000 disc from Lawrence, Kansas’ The Anniversary.

Tuesday, June 11

Planet of Ice is the 2007 release from Minus the Bear. Produced by the group’s former keyboardist, Matt Bayless, the album received almost universal critical acclaim upon its release. Listen for music from that effort as well as from Riddle of Steel’s 2007 album, 1985.

'Full Upon Her Burning Lips' by Earth
Credit Album Cover Art

Wednesday, June 12 

Full Upon Her Burning Lips is the latest release from Earth. Formed in Olympia, Washington in 1989, the band’s sole consistent member if guitarist Dylan Carlson. We’ll hear selections from this new release as well as from Mark Deutrom’s The Blue Bird.

'Problem's from The Get Up Kids
Credit Album Cover Art

Thursday, June 13

Problems is the new release from Kansas City, Missouri’s The Get Up Kids. We’ll hear selections from that release as well as The Anniversary’s 2000 effort Designing A Nervous Breakdown.

Friday, June 14 

Omoiyari is the new release from Athens, Georgia-based artist Kishi Bashi for music from it as well as from Cy Dune, the new project from Akron/Family’s Seth Olinksy.

'Assiniboine & The Red' by The Small Glories
Credit Album Cover Art

Saturday, June 15

Launched in late 1975 Bob Dylan’s Rolling Thunder Revue was launched with the intention of Dylan playing to smaller audiences in markets he would not have otherwise visited. The tour, which ended in early 1976, is the subject of a new film and boxed set. We’ll hear some of the music from that collection as well as songs from Assiniboine & The Red the latest from The Small Glories.

Monday, June 17

Listen for music from Little Seeds, the 2016 release from Shovels & Rope as well as music from John Fullbright’s From The Ground Up.

Galactic Protector's 'Evening'
Credit Album Cover Art

Tuesday, June 18

Galactic Protector is the new project from Bryan Richie of The Sword. We’ll hear selections from the album Evening as well as music from Heavy Age the first full-length release from Unwed Sailor in a decade.