© 2022 KMUW
Play Live Radio
Next Up:
Available On Air Stations

2 Kansas High School Seniors Win $52,000 WSU Scholarships

gore_2013_innes and johnson_hirez.jpg
Wichita State University

Kansas high school students Amanda Johnson and Reegan Innes have won Wichita State University's Harry Gore Memorial Scholarships.

Innes and Johnson will receive $13,000 a year for four years to attend Wichita State.

The scholarships, awarded annually, recognize leadership and academic skills and are two of the largest undergraduate scholarships in Kansas.

Amanda Johnson

Johnson, a senior at Wichita Hight School Northwest, is interested in studying finance at Wichita State. She is vice president of Youth Entrepreneurship of DECA, an international association of marketing students, and placed first at the state DECA competition.

She is active with the National Honor Society, is sports editor and reporter for the Northwest Explorer, and is a four-year varsity competitor and two-year state track and field qualifier.


Innes, a senior at Mulvane High School, is interested in studying elementary education at WSU. She is president of her school's Thespian Club and is a member of the Kansas Association of Youth, Students Against Destructive Decisions and National Honor Society.

Innes has participated in several mission trips to Kansas City, Alabama and New Mexico, where she helped repair homeless shelters, prepared meals and cleaned up schools.

Johnson and Innes competed in the largest Distinguished Scholarship Invitationals in history, with 413 competitors. To be invited to compete in the invitational, students must have a 24 or higher ACT score and a minimum 3.5 cumulative GPA.

Gore scholarships have been awarded annually since 1954 to freshmen entering WSU who display outstanding potential for leadership. Theodore and Ralph Gore established the Harry Gore Memorial Scholarship in 1952.